Tinu Popoola: Echoes

http://soundcloud.com/letoyabrown/week-6-reading

The reason that I choose this reading is because I am a woman and I can relate to what she is saying. She is fighting for women’s human rights. She set up an event to honor women’s gift and talents. I set up an event in July to help talented women get some recognition in the music industry. I invited a few singers and rappers to come along and showcase their talents. I believe that women do not get as much recognition in whatever they do compared to men. Women are very strong individuals, we can even be stronger than men but due to double standards we are not recognized. I love the fact that she gathered women together around the world hosting plays, poetry readings, blogs contest etc. This was done to stand up for peace, equality and empowerment.

It is upsetting that women and children get abused everyday around the world. Over the years, women that have bee abused physically and emotionally have stayed silent about it and suffered alone. But now Michelle Bachelet has given them the courage to break the silence and stick up for themselves. This reminds me of myself because I will always speak up and defend myself if I feel like I should. Not everyone has the confidence that I have to speak up for themself, so we all need to work together as a team. The fact that she is bringing together women that have similar issues is amazing so they don’t feel like they are alone. Different companies are taking action to promote gender equality.

This inspires me to want to be a woman in society that could help change lives for the better. This is why I have started a talent management where I manage a talented young women, I help her pursue her dream and get recognition in the music industry. We are currently working on a CD for her to be released in a few months. Some of her songs in the CD talk about how she struggled being a women in this industry. People didn’t take her seriously at first and men saw her as a sex object. Myself being a talent manager and also female, sometimes I feel like I am not taken seriously compared to other male talent managers that I know. Men feel like its okay to speak to you inappropriately and take advantage of you.

Leave a comment